Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

World Food Prize goes to an economist and a doctor

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — The World Food Prize is being awarded this year to two men credited with helping reduce by 10 million the world's number of children stunted from malnourishment between 2012 and 2017.

British economist and food policy researcher Lawrence Haddad and Dr. David Nabarro were named the 2018 winners Monday at the U.S. Department of Agriculture in Washington.

Nabarro has worked with the World Health Organization and United Nations on hunger issues.

The World Food Prize was created by Nobel Peace Prize laureate Norman Borlaug in 1986 to recognize scientists and others who have improved the quality and availability of food.

Haddad and Nabarro will receive the $250,000 prize at an Oct. 18 ceremony at the state Capitol in Des Moines, Iowa, where the foundation that awards the prize is based.

All contents © copyright 2018 Associated Press. All rights reserved.